Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
Research and Publication
Share |

The SECAC Award for Excellence in Scholarly Research and Publication

The SECAC Awards nomination deadline has been extended to August 31, and the nominations process has been streamlined. All materials may be delivered together on August 31 (upload or postmark).

Awarded for outstanding research shown in the recent publication (within the last two years) of a book, article or series of articles. A precise description of research accomplishments and the nominee's research agenda should accompany the nomination. Nominators are responsible for providing a copy of the publication to be considered.

To nominate an individual for the SECAC Award for Excellence in Scholarly Research and Publication, send a letter of nomination specifying the nominee and the intended award with the nominee’s CV to Lawrence Jenkens at by August 31, 2020; all supporting materials are due by August 31, 2020 (upload or postmark). The nominee's SECAC membership status should be current at the time of nomination.

To nominate a group of collaborators, an organization, or an institution, the nominator should send a letter of nomination specifying the intended award nominee(s) and the intended award to Lawrence Jenkens at by August 31, 2020; all supporting materials are due by August 31, 2020 (upload or postmark). In the case of a collaborating group or organization, at least one person must be a current SECAC member; a CV for this individual should accompany the nomination letter. In the case of an institution, the institution must be a current SECAC institutional member at the time of nomination.

The nominator is responsible for the delivery of one of the original nominated publications to Lawrence Jenkens. This publication, and all supporting materials, will be circulated among the SECAC Awards Committee members.

Supporting materials should include a precise description of the nominees’ research accomplishments and the nominees’ research agenda. Additional supporting materials should not exceed 10 pages; this limit excludes the nomination letter, CV, precise description of research accomplishments, the nominee's research agenda, and nominated publication. These materials may be provided by either the nominator or the nominee, however, all materials are to be submitted together.

Nomination letters and supporting materials may be submitted through Dropbox. Please share your nominating folder in Dropbox with Lawrence Jenkens at

For questions, contact

Past Recipients

2019 - Peter Scott Brown, The Riddle of Jael: The History of a Poxied Heroine in Medieval and
               Renaissance Art and Culture

- Olga U. Herrera, American Interventions and Modern Art in South America, 2017
2017 - Christine Filippone, Science, Technology, and Utopias: Women Artists and Cold War
, 2017
2016 - Sandra Zalman, Consuming Surrealism in American Culture: Dissident Modernism, 2015
2015 - Bibiana Obler, Intimate Collaborations: Kandinsky and Münter, Arp and Taeuber, 2014
2014 - Carol Crown & Cheryl Rivers, The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture: vol. 23:
             Folk Art
, 2013
2013 - Liana De Girolami Cheney, "Leonardo da Vinci's Uffizi Annunciation: The Holy Spirit,"
             Artibus et Historiae, no. 63, 2011
2013 - Susan Richmond, Lynda Benglis: Beyond Process, 2013
2012 - Robert Craig, The Architecture of Francis Palmer Smith, Atlanta’s Scholar-Architect, 2012
2012 - Janet Snyder, Early Gothic Column-Figure Sculpture in France, 2011
2011 - Akela Reason, Thomas Eakins and the Uses of History, 2010
2010 - Kathryn Porter Aichele, Paul Klee, Poet/Painter
2010 - Perri Lee Roberts; Andrew Ladis; Georgia Museum of Art, Corpus of Early Italian
            Paintings in North American Public Collections: The South
2009 - Carol Crown, Sacred and Profane: Voice and Vision in Southern Self-Taught Art
2008 - Tracy Miller‚ The Divine Power of Nature: Chinese Ritual Architecture at the Sacred
             Site of Jinci

2008 - Robert Craig, Bernard Maybeck at Principia College: The Art and Craft of Building
2007 - Amy Kirschke‚ Art in Crisis: W.E.B Du Bois and the Struggle for African American
            Identity and Memory

2006 - Anne Barriault, Andrew Ladis, Norman Land and Jeraldyne Wood, editors of Reading Vasari
2006 - Helen Langa‚ Radical Art: Printmaking and the Left in 1930s New York
2005 - Liana Cheney‚ Self-Portraits by Women Painters
2004 - William Levin‚ The Allegory of Mercy at the Misericordia in Florence
2004 - Pamela Simpson & Cynthia Mills‚ Monuments to the Lost Cause
2003 - The Georgia Museum of Art for its body of publications
2001 - Heather McPherson‚ The Modern Portrait in Nineteenth-Century France
2000 - Pamela Simpson‚ Cheap‚ Quick and Easy: Imitative Architectural Materials‚ 1870-1930
1998 - Charles R. Mack & Lynn Robertson‚ The Roman Remains: John Izard Middleton’s Visual
             Souvenirs of 1820-1823