Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
Research in Art History
Share |

The William R. Levin Awards for Research in the History of Art

Thanks to the generosity of William R. Levin, Professor Emeritus at Centre College, Danville, KY, SECAC offers two awards, of a minimum amount of $5000 each, to art historians who are members of the organization. Dr. Levin has been a member of SECAC since 1987; served on the Board of Directors; published in the scholarly journal The Southeastern College Art Conference Review (now Art Inquiries); received the SECAC Award for Excellence in Scholarly Research and Publication in 2004; and been recognized with two of the organization’s highest honors, the Excellence in Teaching Award and the Exemplary Achievement Award.

Dr. Levin endowed the first award in 2013 to encourage and recognize research in art history; his generous gift in 2018 endowed a second award. The first of these awards supports Research in the History of Art Before 1750; the second is now designated to support Research in the History of Art Since 1750. 

Applicants may be established scholars or those newer to the field, although generally these are post-doctoral awards, and are not intended to support finishing MA theses or PhD dissertations. Applicants are welcome to propose one project each year that may be in the planning stage or partially realized. The purpose of these awards is to enable completion of the proposed project likely resulting in publication. Funds may be used for travel, supplies, fees, assistance, or other purposes. Preference will be given to those projects that involve a significant research component, rather than those in which most of the award would be spent on permissions or editorial assistance. 

At its 2013 annual conference, convened in Greensboro, NC, the Board of Directors of SECAC approved application procedures and deadline as well as the composition of a review committee; the procedures are reviewed annually with updates made periodically. The first recipient of the Levin Award was announced at the 2014 meeting in Sarasota, FL. Directions for applying for both 2020 awards are below; the final monetary amount for the awards will be announced in May and the recipients will be named during the 2020 conference. Award monies will be distributed at that time and thus the awards support research to be done after the annual conference.

Any member of SECAC may apply. SECAC membership must be current at the time of application and at the time of the use of the funds. Recipients must wait three years before re-applying. 

Responsibility of Recipients
No restrictions are made by SECAC on how the award funds are expended.  Conference papers and publications based on the project are encouraged. SECAC requests that winners provide a brief report to the board describing how the funds were spent within one year from receipt of the award money. Award recipients should acknowledge the William R. Levin Award for Research in the History of Art by its full name in any resulting publications.

Responsibility of SECAC
The full amount of the award will be paid to the recipient when the recipient agrees to accept the award and the conditions of the award.

To apply, create a single PDF with the following information:

  • A 2-3 page CV of the applicant including all contact information (email, mailing address, phone number, etc.).
  • A project proposal, limited to one to two pages in length. Clearly describe the project and include a detailed budget on how fellowship monies will be spent and anticipated publication outcomes. Proposals should be single-spaced, 10- to 12-point font and standard margins.
  • A selected bibliography one page in length.
  • Additional supporting materials, limited to ten (10) pages, such as a writing sample. This should not be a longer version of the proposal, but rather something that would enhance the committee’s understanding of the proposal, such as images. Any included writing should be written by the applicant, relate to the proposed project, and reflect the writing style of the intended publication.
  • Title your PDF exactly as such:
             Example: Archino.Sarah_LevinAward.pdf
  • Email your file to Make your subject line state your Lastname.Firstname Levin Award application and include either Before 1750 or Since 1750 to specify the award (for example, Archino.Sarah Levin Award application – Since 1750).

Abiding by these guidelines can affect the success of your application.

There is no fee for application for the award.

Entries must be submitted by August 31, 2020 at midnight EDT. The award recipients will be announced during the annual conference. All applicants are notified of the committee’s decision within 60 days of the end of the conference.

Note: SECAC is committed to being an inclusive organization and you can help.  If this is not a year that you plan to apply for the Levin award yourself—and even if you are—please consider bringing this funding opportunity to the attention of colleagues and peers, particularly those individuals who have been underrepresented historically.

Past Recipients

2019 - Yumi Park-Huntington
2019 - Stephen Mandravelis
2018 - Andrew Wasserman
2017 - Ashley Elston
2016 - Sarah Archino
2015 - John Ott
2014 - Michelle Moseley-Christian