Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
SECAC Awards
Share |

SECAC has an annual awards program to recognize exemplary work by its members. Nominations are accepted and reviewed by member committees, and awards are announced at the annual SECAC conference. SECAC is pleased to announce a call for nominations for the awards program for 2019-2020. Separate processes exist for each award. Follow the links below for descriptions of each award and for full instructions.

Dedicated committees select recipients of the SECAC Artist's Fellowship and the Levin Award for Research in Art History. The application deadline for the Artist's Fellowship is August 31, 2020; the deadline for the Levin Award for Research in Art History is August 31, 2020.

In addition to the awards listed below, the SECAC President is authorized to designate recipients for the Award of Distinction (recognizing former officers), the Certificate of Merit (members who are entering retirement), and the Award for Exemplary Achievement (exceptional individuals who have demonstrated significant personal and professional development and long-standing service to SECAC).

The SECAC Awards Committee reviews and selects recipients for the following six SECAC Awards.

The SECAC Award for Excellence in Teaching
The SECAC Award for Excellence in Scholarly Research and Publication
The SECAC Award for Outstanding Exhibition and Catalogue of Historical Materials
The SECAC Award for Outstanding Exhibition and Catalogue of Contemporary Materials
The SECAC Award for Outstanding Artistic Achievement
The SECAC Award for Outstanding Professional Achievement in Graphic Design

For these awards, please send nominations with all supporting materials to on or before August 31, 2020.

Members are welcome to nominate a SECAC colleague, to seek a colleague to make a nomination on one’s behalf, or to self-nominate. SECAC is committed to being an inclusive organization, and you can help. Please consider nominating colleagues and peers, particularly those individuals who have been underrepresented historically.

The nominating individual or a designee is to coordinate the nomination materials. Follow the link under the description of each award for full instructions. For questions, contact Lawrence Jenkens at

There are no deadlines for nomination for the President’s Awards.

For questions, contact SECAC First Vice President and Chair of the SECAC Awards Committee Lawrence Jenkens at An Awards Ceremony takes place during the annual conference.